Conference Abstruct will be published in Scopus Journals   |   Early bird registration open click here to register   |   Pre-conference workshop registration closed

International Pharmacology Conference-2023

In Association with Indian Pharmacological Society

Contact Details of Organizing Secretary:
Dr. Chandrashekhar V M : +91 9880298342

Kindly contact Hotels mentioned in website for accommodation.

The genesis of pharmacology in India dates back to the beginning of 20th Century when Col.Ram Nath Chopra took over the reins in 1921 as the first Professor of Pharmacology at the School of Tropical Medicine, Calcutta. Col. Chopra who is rightly regarded as the doyen of pharmacology initiated several research investigations to study the merits and demerits of indigenous drugs used in the country since ancient times.

The story of the birth of the Indian Pharmacological Society (IPS) dates back to 1966, when the 12th Annual Conference of Association of Physiologists and Pharmacologists of India (APPI) held at Patna, a large gathering of pharmacologists resolved to start an independent body for pharmacologists. Prof. Desmond Lawrence of Clinical Pharmacology Division in University of London provided real momentum to the new movement. Two vital objectives were spelt out viz., integrating pharmacology in medical education and to work for all round development of pharmacology. Professors G.Achari, K.P.Bhargava, R.P.Kholi and P.N.Saxena later provided the needed impetus.

A Steering Committee was formed to organize the first Annual Conference of IPS under the able leadership of Prof.G.Achary, at Patna in 1968. It was inaugurated on January 5, 1969 by the internationally renowned Pharmacologist, Prof. B. Uvnas of Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, and President of the International Union of Pharmacological Sciences. Eighty four delegates from allover the country witnessed this historic event and elected the first Executive Committee comprising Col.G.S.Ram Nath Chopra as President, Prof.U.K.Sheth as General Secretary, Prof. G. Achari as Treasurer and Prof.K.P .Bhargava as Editor.

At the Fifth IUPHAR held in San Francisco in July 1972, IPS was declared official National Society of Pharmacologists of India. In July 1975, IUPHAR Council Meeting was held in Helsinki and IPS was authorised to send delegates to represent India. Since then, IPS has marched ahead and grown from year to year. There are at present 1500 Life Members hailing from academic/research institutions/industries. The members of the Society were highly successful in their respective fields and many have received honours of excellence. To mention a few, Padmasri conferred on Dr.Ranjit Roy Choudary, Shanta Swaroop Bhatnagar Award conferred on Dr.U.K.Sheth, Dr.Ranjit Roy Choudhary and Dr.O.D.Gulati, Members of IPS have also been on the Advisory Boards of various National and International bodies working in the sphere of health. Most of our members have also been elected Fellows of various National and International Science and Medical Academies. The members of IPS are: Dr.G.V.Satyavati, Former DG, ICMR; Prof. La lith a Kameswaran, Vice-Chancellor, Madras University, Dr.Gaitonde, Dr.Nityanand, Directorate of Drug Control, Dr.Sreemal, Dr.B.N.Dhawan, Dr.Kamboj, Dr.B.N.Tandon, Dr.A.P.Vaidya, Dr.Kamala Krishnaswamy, Dr.Satoskar, Dr.R.D.Kulkarni, Prof.St sodia, Dr.P .S.R.K.Haranath, 9r.Kokate, Dr.Bapna, etc. Many of them have served as Directors of reputed institutions and some of them are in service.

In the glorious century of scientific advancement, the contribution of Pharmacologists in India is well recognized. In spite of sophisticated infrastructural facilities, we have abundant expertise and magnificent ancestral legacy of indigenous systems of medicine. This is still vibrant and promises to show to the world the immense potential of Indian Pharmacologists. The time has come for Pharmacologists to concentrate more on operational research, especially on cost-benefit analysis and improvement in the quality of life, as drugs are considered to be the major requirements of health care budget